Are eggs vegetarian? Health, Lifestyle, VFIT Based on the definition of vegetarian as a diet which excludes consumption of animal flesh, technically, yes, eggs are vegetarian, since they are not animal flesh (the meat, muscles or tissue of an animal). Many vegetarians include eggs in their diet, while still abstaining from eating chicken, cows, pigs, fish and all animals. According to terminology, you’re an “ovo-vegetarian”, that is, a vegetarian who eats eggs. Note that while eggs are vegetarian, they are certainly, under no circumstances, considered vegan. However, in some parts of the world, particularly in India, eggs are indeed considered to be meat, and some vegetarians will not eat them. Usually, this is tied to a religious practice, such as Hinduism. Vegetarian Hindus, and those who have come to vegetarianism from a Hindu background consider eggs to be meat and do not include them in their vegetarian diet. So, while most Westerners believe that eggs are vegetarian, many Easterners do not; this means that whether or not eggs are vegetarian is really dependent on a cultural agreement. The important thing is not whether or not a food item fits within your (or another person’s) definition of vegetarian or not, but whether or not you feel that consuming a food is morally justifiable or not. If you’re trying to be kind to animals, you may want to explore going vegan. If you’re eating vegetarian for your health, you’ll likely find that you want to reduce the number of eggs you eat.