The elections for the post of the Vice President of India will be held on 5 August, the Election Commission announced on 29 June. Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi, who made the announcement, said the results will also be declared on August 5.

The last date for filing nomination is 18 July and the papers will be scrutinized on 19 July. Candidates will have to pay a security deposit of Rs 15,000 at the time of nomination.

Rajya Sabha Secretary General Shumsher K Sheriff has been appointed as the returning officer.

The elections are scheduled to be held on 10 August 2017, when Vice President Hamid Ansari’s term expires. Two-time VP Ansari was first elected in 2007 and later in 2012.

The electoral college for the VP election will include the members of both the Houses of Parliament – the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

The process for the presidential election is already underway with the election date set for July 17. National Democratic Alliance candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition candidate Meira Kumar have filed their papers for the top post. The results of the presidential election will be declared on July 20.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.