the fast (and sometimes furious) nature of Twenty20 cricket, records are set and broken in an alarming rate. So no record lasts more than few years. The widely popular and cash-rich Indian Premier League which is in the ninth season this year is no exception. Here too records are set and surpassed with the blink of eyes, but it is a surprise that there are few cricketing records which remained intact since it was created in the inaugural season in 2008.

Even batting legend Sachin Tendulkar has one such record, which has been equalled by couple of players since but is yet to be surpassed. TOI Sports examines five such IPL records:

Largest victory margin – 140 runs

The IPL had a record-shattering start at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on April 18, 2008, which was still remembered for the then record T20 innings of 158 not out (73 balls) scored by Brendon McCullum for the Kolkata Knight Riders. The said record was surpassed five years later by non other then T20 megastar Chris Gayle, who now holds the record for an unbeaten 175 (66 balls) scored for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors on April 23, 2013. But one record set on that day and withstood the test of time is the record of largest victory margin (in terms of runs). Riding on McCullum special, KKR set a target of 223 for the hosts RCB and then bundled them out for 82 to register a massive 140-run victory. That day RCB had a disastrous outing as their innings was top-scored by the number of extras (19) with only Praveen Kumar reaching the double digit (18).

Most extras in an innings – 28

KKR were again involved in another record which still holds its place. In the fourth match of the IPL season one at the Eden Gardens on April 20, 2008, KKR bowled Deccan Chargers out for 110. Then Chargers’ defence of the below-par total was weakened by their erratic bowlers, who conceded 15 wides and one no-ball to go with eight leg byes and four byes. That’s a total of 28 runs in extras for the chasing KKR team, who scored 112/5, as the latter chased down the target with five wickets and one over left. RCB came closest to break the record when they conceded 27 extras against Kings XI Punjab in the fourth edition in 2011.

Best bowling figures in an innings – 6/14

The inaugural edition was won by relatively the weakest team, Rajasthan Royals, led by their captain Shane Warne, who is regarded by many as the best captain Australia never had. Warne led from the front and made a hero out of Pakistan pacer, yes they used to be a part of the league, Sohail Tanvir, who finished as the highest wicket-taker in the season with 22 dismissals followed by his skipper on 19. But the one record which is yet to be matched is Tanvir’s best figures in an innings, a 6/14 he achieved against Chennai Super Kings in Jaipur on May 4, 2008. Tanvir still remained the only bowler to take a six-wicket haul in the IPL, with the second best figures being Anil Kumble’s 5/5 for RCB against Rajasthan Royals in the second season.

Lowest match aggregates – 135

In the 38th match of the new league on May 16, the Mumbai Indians bowlers fired collectively to bowled KKR out for the record lowest IPL total of 67 in 15.2 overs. Only three KKR batsmen were in the double figures in their dismal display of batsmanship at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. Sanath Jayasuriya then made the chase a short affair as he bludgeoned into KKR attack to score an unbeaten 48 off 17 balls and took Mumbai home in just 5.3 overs. Mumbai’s 68 took the match aggregate to 135, a record still untouched even though the lowest total is now held by Rajasthan Royals for their 58 against RCB in Cape Town in the second edition of the IPL.


Most catches in an innings by a fielder – 4


The fateful day, May 16, the above record of lowest aggregate was set by Mumbai and Kolkata, batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar too set an IPL record which has now lasted nine years and which has nothing to do with his batting. Then Mumbai captain Tendulkar took four catches to dismiss KKR batsmen – Salman Butt, Wriddhiman Saha, Ajit Agarkar and Shoaib Akhtar, at the Wankhede to set the fielding record. The record was later matched by Delhi Daredevils’ David Warner and KKR’s Jacques Kallis in 2010 and 2011 respectively, but it is yet to be surpassed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.