The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the team for the Zimbabwe and West Indies series. Mostly the senior players have been kept for the ODI and T20 series against Zimbabwe. The team for Zimbabwe will be led by MS Dhoni while Virat Kohli will be leading the West Indies tour.

The 16-member team for the Zimbabwe series includes high performers from the IPL series including Karun Nair, Manish Pandey, Yuzvendra Chahal and KL Rahul. Besides having performed in the IPL, the selectors have also included those cricketers, who have been consistent in the domestic circuit including Jaydev Unadkat and Rishi Dhawan. Mohammed Shami has also been included.

The test team for the West Indies tour does not have many surprise selections.  Virat Kohli will be leading the team while Ishant Sharma will be India’s spearhead in the pace department, and R Ashwin will be the key spinner in the West Indies.

A good performer, Shardul Thakur has been included in the Test squad, after some splendid bowling for Mumbai in the Ranji trophy. The bowler scalped 41 wickets last season, which must have prompted the selectors to give him a chance. Rest of the pacers are Ishant, Mohammaed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav.

Team for Zimbabwe tour include MS Dhoni (C), KL Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, J Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat and Yuzvendra Chahal

Test team for West Indies tour include Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammaed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.