The minister of Civil Aviation, Ashok Gajapathi Raju, has finally come out with the no-fly list of rules for all flight passengers.

“The No-Fly ban will be in addition to any statutory legal action that can be taken against the offender under existing laws,” he tweeted.

It outlines three levels of offensive behaviour. Level 1 includes ‘unruly physical gestures, verbal harassment and unruly inebriation,’ leading to a ban of up to 3  months.

Level 2 is characterised by ‘physically abusive behaviour (pushing, kicking, hitting, and inappropriate touching).’ this can lead to a ban lasting upto 6 months on flying.

Level 3, which  includes ‘damage to aircraft systems, in addition to ‘life threatening behaviour and assault’, has the most severe punishment of ban on flying up to a minimum of 2 years.

An independent committee under a retired district judge will be deciding whether a passenger will make it to the list, as well as the level of offence and the period of punishment for a passenger, within a period of 30 days from the alleged offence.

Ashok Gajapathi Raju has made it very clear that the rules will be applicable to all passengers, tweeting, “Goes without saying, but since many have asked, let me reply – the no-fly list provisions are applicable to EVERY passenger. No exemptions.”

“The motive behind the ‘No-Fly List’ is the safety and security of passengers, which is our priority,” says Jayant Sinha, minister of state for civil aviation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.