World No.1 all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin today added yet another feather to his already decorated cap by winning the sixth Man of the Series award of his Test career in West Indies.

The 29-year-old off-spinner’s feat is the most by any Indian in the longest format of the game, surpassing the likes of legendary Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Kapil Dev, Harbhajan Singh, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad Azharuddin and Sourav Ganguly.

Ashwin got the MoS award for his splendid all-round performance against West Indies in the four-Test series.

What is more surprising is that Ashwin became the quickest to reach the milestone. It took him just 36 Test matches and 13 series to win his 6th MoS, sailing past Malcolm Marshall (21 series), Curtly Ambrose (27) and Steve Waugh (54), who all have won the equal number of player of the series honours.

Both Tendulkar (74) and Sehwag (39) have five awards each in Test cricket.

Ashwin scored 235 runs with two centuries and claimed 17 wickets to help India register their biggest Test series victory on the Caribbean soil with a 2-0 win over the West Indies.

However, India lost their top Test ranking to arch-rivals Pakistan.

India had to win the last game of the four-match series to retain their No.1 position, but four days without play led to the match being declared a draw on Monday.

Ashwin, who made his Test debut in 2011, has been a proven match-winner with the ball. However, off late his form with the bat has also been impressive.

In 36 Tests, Ashwin has slammed 4 hundreds (all against the West Indies) and 6 fifties with his highest score being 124 runs.

During the series against the West Indies, Ashwin also became the fir